Available in your clinic

Not available in your clinic

Be body confident for your next vacation!

November 29, 2021

Others

With the cold and grey weather setting in, there’s only one thing we want: to fill up on vitamin D under the tropical sun! Love handles, skin that loses tone, and cellulite affect most people and are all normal manifestations of skin aging. Feeling good about those changes can be a process and it’s all about being kind to ourselves and better understanding it to act effectively. No matter what your goals are, here are a few tips and tricks to address them both preventatively and presently!

GOAL NO.1: IMPROVE SAGGING SKIN


Sagging skin (laxity) is primarily caused by a decrease in the production of collagen and elastin. The slowing down of skin cell metabolism as well as certain lifestyle habits also explain the phenomenon. Laxity affects several areas of the body such as the arms, abdomen, flanks, knees, thighs, and buttocks. 

Laxity can have different causes:

A change in weight: When weight is gained and lost quickly, for example during dieting or pregnancy, the elastic fibers are stretched and then released quickly. The skin loses its firmness and becomes visibly less toned and firm.

Hormonal variations: A dysfunction or imbalance in the levels of certain hormones such as estrogen, testosterone and progesterone can accentuate skin dehydration and loss of tone.

Unhealthy lifestyle habits: Smoking, alcohol consumption, stress, lack of exercise and a diet high in sugar all have direct impacts on skin health.

DID YOU KNOW?

The 1% loss of collagen that we experience annually beginning in our mid-twenties not only affects the skin of the face, but also the appearance and structure of the skin of the entire body. This can result in an abdomen, arms or thighs that lack tone and firmness.


PREVENT


Laxity is a normal part of the skin’s aging process. However, it is possible to minimize it with a healthy lifestyle.

Adopt healthy habits 

A diet rich in vitamins A and C, silica, amino acids, magnesium, and antioxidants promotes the production of collagen and helps fight against sagging skin. It is recommended to avoid overcooked (grilled), browned or caramelized foods. The reaction of our body when we eat these types of foods is called glycation and it degrades the elastin fibers and contributes to the loss of skin elasticity.

Hydrate again and again!

Applying a moisturizer and drinking 1.5 liters of water daily will keep your skin supple and toned for longer. A worthwhile investment!

Protect yourself from UV rays

UVA and UVB rays have a direct effect on the epidermis and dermis. It is so important to protect your skin with a sunscreen with SPF 50 or more, preferably mineral, and to reapply it every two hours.


TAKE ACTION


Skin that lacks elasticity is not the end of the world! By changing your lifestyle, starting a daily skin care routine, or using the best medical and aesthetic technologies, you have several options to help you regain toned skin.

Exercise

You don’t have to be in Olympic shape to exercise! Daily physical activity his can help you reduce the sagging appearance of your skin. Focus on workouts that will engage your lower body muscles such as dancing, aerobics, or swimming. Abdominal toning exercises, cardio workouts or simple weight training exercises at home are also good choices. The key is consistency! A few short workouts each week will quickly show results.

Skincare

Well-hydrated skin helps keep it supple. Certain skincare products can help improve the appearance of the skin by providing a good dose of moisture. For hydrated and visibly firmer skin, it’s all about applying them every day. 

Our choice :
Retexturing Body Cream, by Functionalab

Supplements*

Since collagen is directly linked to the skin’s elasticity and strength, it can be worth-while to integrate supplements that stimulate its production into your wellness routine. Taking nutricosmetics designed with hydrolyzed collagen- a form that is very well absorbed by the body- is an effective additional tool.

Our choice :
Nutricosmetics Collagen Formula, by Functionalab

Thermage®

Working with thermal energy from unipolar radiofrequency, this technology slows down collagen loss and stimulates its natural production in the deep dermis. Under the effect of heat, fibroblast cells are spontaneously stimulated, allowing them to produce new collagen fibers. The skin is thus visibly and gradually densified and firmed. It is generally used on the arms, stomach, thighs, and buttocks.

Frequency/ Results

1 session every year is recommended. A gradual tightening of the skin is optimal after 5 to 6 months.

Venus Freeze™ / Venus Legacy™ 

Combining radiofrequency with pulsed magnetic fields, this technology heats the skin from the inside in a constant, safe, and uniform manner. This process stimulates collagen production in the superficial dermis and tightens and strengthens surface fibers. It can be used on the arms, décolletage, stomach, flanks, buttocks, thighs, and knees.

Frequency/ Results

A course of 10 sessions is recommended when the technology is used alone. The skin is firmed and tightened, the body contour is reshaped, and the silhouette is refined. This treatment can be done in combination with other treatments, depending on the clinic visited, and is an excellent investment to maintain the effects of a Thermage® treatment.

Venus Freeze – Explanatory video

GOAL NO.2: ELIMINATE STUBBORN FAT


The cells that make up adipose tissue play an essential role in the body as they provide the energy needed for the body to function properly. However, when fat intake exceeds energy needs, these cells grow to up to ten times their original size. Fat bulges then appear on the body, mainly on the stomach, hips, thighs, and buttocks in women and on the abdomen, flanks and back in men.

Causes 

In addition to a high calorie diet and a lack of physical exercise, fat deposits can also be explained by:

An unhealthy lifestyle

It is known that stress and lack of sleep create hormonal variations that can cause an increase in appetite. 

Heredity

Parental obesity is a risk factor for obesity. Studies show that a person with obese parents has a 70% chance of becoming obese.

Hormonal changes

Since certain hormones affect the body’s metabolism, hormonal changes such as puberty, pregnancy or menopause can affect the body’s ability to regulate weight.

Age

As we get older, we lose lean body mass, muscle mass and sometimes even bone mass, which leads to a drop in our basic metabolism. As a result, daily energy expenditure decreases and, if the same calorie intake is maintained, weight gain is inevitable.

DID YOU KNOW?

When you lose weight, the size of your fat cells decreases, but the number of cells in your body remains the same. With the CoolSculpting® procedure, a portion of the treated fat cells are permanently eliminated.


PREVENT


Healthy eating and physical activity 

To avoid the accumulation of fat deposits, it is essential to balance energy intake and physical activity as much as possible. A healthy diet combined with regular physical activity is the key to maintaining a harmonious figure.

Maintain good lifestyle habits

Enjoying a good night’s sleep, drinking plenty of water, avoiding alcoholic beverages rich in calories and avoiding stress as much as possible are also recommended.


TAKE ACTION


Few people will never have to deal with love handles! If they bother you, it is possible to reduce them or even make them disappear by changing your lifestyle habits, for example.

Physical exercise

The best way to lose love handles is to do activities that combine cardiovascular activity with muscle strengthening. Swimming is an excellent choice because it allows you to burn a good number of calories (cardio) while strengthening several muscles including those of the abdominal belt. Cycling, jogging, and jumping rope are also effective and inexpensive sports that have the advantage of mobilizing many of the body’s muscles.

Changing your diet

There is no secret, to get rid of excess fatty tissue, you must pay special attention to the food you eat. You should therefore eat a diet rich in fiber, vegetables, antioxidants, and proteins and low in fast sugars and animal fat. Don’t forget to stay well hydrated with unsweetened drinks such as water and green tea, which is known to help eliminate toxins through its draining action.

Skincare

Certain ingredients, peptides or botanical extracts can help reduce fatty deposits by acting, for example, on the fat storage cycle in the adipocytes. This is not a solution, but a good complement to a balanced lifestyle.

Our choice :
Body Toning Gel, by Functionalab

Supplements*

HCA, a natural extract of Garcinia Cambogia, is recognized for its effects on appetite regulation and, consequently, on weight control. Studies have shown that taking daily supplements of HCA for 12 weeks significantly reduces subcutaneous and visceral fat. Integrating a quality HCA supplement is therefore a safe way to maintain a healthy weight.

Our choice :
Nutricosmetics Weight Management, by Functionalab

CoolSculpting® 

This world-renowned medical platform is based on the principle of cryolipolysis, which is the permanent destruction of fat cells, without surgery or downtime, by cold. During a treatment, controlled cooling of the subcutaneous fat cells is used to destroy them, which are then eliminated naturally by the body’s own natural channels. This treatment can destroy up to 27% of fat cells in the treated area in one session. It can be used on the abdomen, flanks, arms, inner and outer thighs, as well as the back and pectorals. 

Frequency/ Results

A minimum of 2 sessions on the same area is recommended. 3 or 4 sessions may be necessary depending on the initial mass to be treated. The contours of the body are then better defined, the waist is refined, and the silhouette sculpted. Venus technology is also an excellent treatment to maintain the results.

GOAL NO.3: REDUCE CELLULITE


Cellulite is made up of clusters of adipocytes (fat cells) linked together by vertical fibers from poorly eliminated cellular waste, giving it a bumpy texture often compared to an orange peel. It is mainly located on the thighs, buttocks, and abdomen.

Causes

Cellulite is a normal physiological phenomenon. Although it generally appears at puberty and often increases after pregnancy or at the time of the menopause, its causes are not only hormonal. A combination of the following factors generally explains it:

Gender

The structure of the connective tissue surrounding the fat cells (adipocytes) differs between the sexes. In women, the partitions are perpendicular to the skin, whereas in men they form a sort of grid. As a result, when the adipocytes grow, in women they can only expand upwards, giving the skin its irregular appearance. The phenomenon is different in men because the lattice-like structure means that the cells can only expand widthwise, with little or no change in the texture of the skin. 

Age

As we age, the skin naturally becomes thinner and looser, which generally accentuates the appearance of cellulite.

Lifestyle

A rich diet and lack of regular exercise can aggravate cellulite problems.

Other causes

Despite healthy lifestyle habits, it is possible to be predisposed to developing cellulite since it is our genetic heritage that determines the number and size of our fat cells. Stress, poor blood or lymphatic circulation, smoking and alcohol are also factors that contribute to the appearance or accentuation of cellulite.

The different stages

Stage 1

Visible only when the skin is pinched. It is possible to eradicate it completely.

Stage 2

The orange peel appearance is always visible. Cellulite is also reversible at this stage.

Stage 3

The fat cells are more voluminous and water retention is present. This type of cellulite can be eliminated over a longer period.

Stage 4

The cellulite is deeply hardened and is difficult to eliminate.

DID YOU KNOW?

It is estimated that nearly 9 out of 10 women will have cellulite in their lifetime, compared to 1 in 50 men!


PREVENT


Practicing regular physical activity 

Regular exercise helps eliminate fat and optimize blood circulation. Sports that involve the muscles of the buttocks, thighs, and abdomen, such as swimming, cycling, running, and skating, are preferred. 

Stay hydrated

Drink 1 to 2 liters of water a day, avoiding carbonated water, which promotes water retention.

Adopt a healthy diet

A diet low in refined sugars and fats is preferable. Put in your grocery cart: kale, onions, peppers, leeks, pineapple, red fruits, and green tea!

Reduce your salt intake

Knowing that salt consumption favors water retention, it is recommended to reduce it as much as possible in your diet

Wear comfortable clothes

Tight clothes compress and immobilize the tissues, thereby slowing down blood circulation.


TAKE ACTION


Once cellulite has set in, it is possible to reduce its appearance and, in the best cases, make it disappear. In addition to applying the tips mentioned above, a few tools can also make a real difference:

Daily massage

Massaging the affected areas helps stimulate circulation and promotes the elimination of toxins. Palpate and roll massage technic is well known to help lipolysis, i.e., the breakdown of stored fat by the body’s cells, and to activate venous and lymphatic circulation. It can be done by yourself or by a professional in a clinic.

Skincare

Anti-cellulite treatments generally combine various active ingredients that work at the lipolytic level (to reduce fat deposits) and at the venotonic level (to activate circulation and fat drainage). Good results are noted with regular use, and it is an excellent complement to a balanced lifestyle.

Our choice :
Body Toning Gel, by Functionalab

Supplements*

In addition to being recognized for its weight control benefits, HCA, an extract of the tropical fruit Garcinia cambogia, also contributes to the breakdown of fat stored in fat cells and the inhibition of the storage of new fat and cholesterol. Nutricosmetics with HCA and chromium, a metabolic accelerator that also helps with cellulite loss, are therefore a very good choice when it comes to reducing the appearance of cellulite.

Our choice :
Nutricosmetics Weight Management, by Functionalab

Thermage® 

Thermage® offers a non-invasive approach to improving the appearance of mild to moderate cellulite, using a unipolar radio frequency technology. Working on two levels, the treatment tightens the skin’s structure and stimulates the production of new collagen. Visible improvements to the skin’s surface and remodeling are observed as the body goes through its normal collagen regeneration cycle. It is typically used on the arms, stomach, thighs, and buttocks.

Frequency/ Results

1 session every year is recommended. A nice reduction of cellulite and a gradual and optimal skin tightening effect after 5 to 6 months.

Venus Freeze™ / Venus Legacy™  

This technology uses heat in the form of multipolar radiofrequency and pulsed magnetic fields to reduce cellulite by at least one stage per course of 10 treatments, by stimulating the production of lipase, the enzyme responsible for the reduction of fat cells. It is generally used to reduce the appearance of cellulite on the arms, stomach, flanks, buttocks, thighs, and knees.

Frequency/ Results

A course of 10 sessions is recommended. Results are usually visible after the third treatment. It is also an excellent option for maintaining the effects of a Thermage® treatment.

Would you like to know more about our different treatments and how they can help you achieve your goals? Make an appointment today at your favorite clinic for a free consultation!


* Food supplements should be used as part of a healthy lifestyle, and should not be used as a substitute to a balanced and varied diet. Consult a healthcare practitioner prior to use if you are pregnant or breastfeeding.

Similar articles

Dermapure

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive $25 off

Exclusive promotions, tips and contests every month

Disponible dans votre clinique

Indisponible dans votre clinique

Bien dans son corps pour des vacances de rêves!

novembre 29, 2021

Divers

Avec le froid et la grisaille qui s’installent, on a qu’une seule envie : partir faire le plein de vitamine D sous le soleil des tropiques! Poignées d’amour, peau qui perd en tonicité et cellulite touchent une très grande majorité des gens et sont tous des conséquences normales du vieillissement de la peau. Pour enfiler son maillot avec plaisir, la clé est de tout d’abord de poser un regard bienveillant sur notre corps et de mieux comprendre les changements qu’il subit avec l’âge afin d’agir efficacement. Peu importe quels sont vos objectifs, voici quelques trucs et conseils pour les aborder autant en prévention qu’en action!

OBJECTIF NO.1 : TRAVAILLER SUR LE RELÂCHEMENT CUTANÉ


Le relâchement cutané est principalement causé par la diminution de la production de collagène et d’élastine. Le ralentissement du métabolisme des cellules cutanées ainsi que certaines habitudes de vie expliquent également le phénomène. Ce relâchement de la peau touche plusieurs régions du corps tels que les bras, l’abdomen, les flancs, les genoux, les cuisses ou encore les fesses. 

Le relâchement cutané peut avoir différentes causes :

Une variation de poids : Lors d’une prise et perte de poids rapides, comme par exemple lors d’un régime ou d’une grossesse, les fibres élastiques sont étirées puis relâchées hâtivement. La peau perd alors de sa fermeté et devient visiblement moins tonique et ferme.

Des variations hormonales : Un dysfonctionnement ou un déséquilibre des niveaux de certaines hormones telles que l’estrogène, de la testostérone et de la progestérone peut accentuer la déshydratation cutanée la perte de tonicité. 

Les mauvaises habitudes de vie : La consommation de tabac et d’alcool, le stress, le manque d’exercice physique et une alimentation riche en sucre ont tous des impacts directs sur la santé de la peau.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS?

La perte de 1% de collagène que nous connaissons annuellement dès la mi- vingtaine n’affecte pas seulement la peau du visage, mais aussi l’aspect et la structure de la peau de tout le corps. Cela peut se traduire par un abdomen, des bras ou des cuisses manquant de tonus et de fermeté.


PRÉVENIR


Le relâchement cutané est un phénomène normal faisant partie du processus du vieillissement de la peau. Il est toutefois possible de le limiter en adoptant une bonne hygiène de vie.

Adopter de saines habitudes 

Une alimentation riche en vitamines A et C, en silicium, en acides aminés, en magnésium et en antioxydants favorise la production de collagène et permet de lutter contre le relâchement cutané. On recommande d’éviter de consommer des aliments trop cuits (grillés), brunis, gratinés ou caramélisés. La réaction de notre corps lorsque nous mangeons ces types d’aliments, la glycation, dégrade les fibres d’élastine et favorise la perte d’élasticité de la peau.

Hydrater, hydrater et encore hydrater!

Appliquer un soin hydratant et boire 1,5 litre d’eau quotidiennement permet de conserver une peau souple et tonique pendant plus longtemps. Un investissement payant!

Se protéger des rayons UV

Les rayons UVA et UVB ont un effet direct sur l’épiderme et le derme. Il est donc primordial de protéger sa peau grâce à un écran solaire de FPS 50 et plus, de préférence minéral, et d’en renouveler l’application aux deux heures.


TRAITER


Une peau qui manque d’élasticité n’est pas une fatalité! Modifier ses habitudes de vie, adopter une routine de soins ciblés ou encore recourir aux meilleures technologies en médico-esthétiques, plusieurs options s’offrent à vous afin de retrouver une peau tonifiée.

Exercice

Pas besoin d’être dans une forme olympique pour pratiquer des sports qui vous aideront à diminuer l’aspect relâché de votre peau! Misez sur des entrainements qui mobiliseront davantage vos muscles du bas du corps comme la danse, l’aérobie ou encore la natation. Les exercices visant à tonifier vos muscles abdos-fessiers, des entrainements cardio-vasculaire ou de simples exercices de musculation à faire à la maison sont également de bons choix. La clé? La constance! Quelques courts entrainements chaque semaine vous permettront de rapidement constater des résultats.

Soins cosmétiques

Une peau bien hydratée permet de la garder souple. Certains soins corporels peuvent contribuer à améliorer l’aspect de la peau en lui apportant notamment une bonne dose d’hydratation. Pour une peau hydratée et visiblement plus ferme, il s’agit d’en faire l’application à chaque jour. 

Notre choix :
Crème pour le corps Retexturant, de Functionalab

Compléments alimentaires*

Le collagène étant directement lié à l’élasticité et à la résistance de la peau, il peut s’avérer intéressant d’intégrer des compléments alimentaires stimulant sa production à sa routine bien-être. La consommation de nutricosmétiques conçus à base de collagène hydrolysé- une forme très bien absorbée par l’organisme- est un outil supplémentaire efficace.

Notre choix :
Nutricosmétiques Formule Collagène, de Functionalab

La technologie ThermageMD 

Travaillant avec l’énergie thermique issue de la radiofréquence unipolaire, cette technologie permet de freiner la perte de collagène et stimuler sa production naturelle dans le derme profond. Sous l’effet de la chaleur, les cellules fibroblastes sont spontanément stimulés, leur permettant de produire de nouvelles fibres de collagène. La peau est ainsi visiblement et graduellement densifiée et raffermie. On l’utilise généralement au niveau des bras, du ventre, des cuisses et des fesses.

Fréquence/ Résultats

1 séance par année est recommandée. Un resserrement de la peau graduel est optimal au bout de 5 à 6 mois.

Les technologies Venus 

Combinant de la radiofréquence à des champs magnétiques pulsés, cette technologie permet de chauffer la peau de l’intérieur de façon constante, sécuritaire et uniforme. Ce procédé permet de stimuler la production de collagène dans le derme superficiel et de resserrer et de renforcir les fibres en surface. On peut l’utiliser sur les bras, le décolleté, le ventre, les flancs, les fesses, les cuisses et les genoux.

Fréquence/ Résultats

Une cure de 10 séances est recommandée lorsque la technologie est employée seule. La peau est raffermie et retendue, le contour du corps est remodelé et la silhouette affinée. Ce traitement peut se faire en combinaison avec d’autres soins, selon la clinique visitée et est par ailleurs un excellent investissement pour entretenir les effets d’un soin ThermageMD.

Venus Freeze – Vidéo explicative (en anglais)

OBJECTIF NO.2 : TRAVAILLER SUR LES AMAS GRAISSEUX


Les cellules qui composent le tissu adipeux jouent un rôle essentiel dans le corps puisqu’elles apportent l’énergie nécessaire au bon fonctionnement de l’organisme. Toutefois, lorsque l’apport en graisses est supérieur aux besoins énergétiques, ces cellules grossissent, pouvant atteindre jusqu’à dix fois leur taille d’origine. Des poignées d’amour se logent alors sur le corps, principalement au niveau du ventre, des hanches, des cuisses et des fesses chez la femme et au niveau de l’abdomen des flancs et du dos chez l’homme.

Causes 

En plus d’une alimentation hypercalorique et un manque d’exercice physique, les amas graisseux peuvent aussi s’explique par :

Une mauvaise hygiène de vie

Il est reconnu que le stress et le manque de sommeil créent des variations hormonales pouvant provoquer un accroissement de l’appétit. 

L’hérédité

L’obésité parentale est un facteur de risque d’obésité. Des études démontrent qu’une personne qui a des parents obèses a 70 % de chances de le devenir à son tour.

Les changements hormonaux

Puisque certaines hormones agissent sur le métabolisme du corps, les bouleversements hormonaux occasionnés notamment par la puberté, une grossesse ou la ménopause peuvent donc avoir une incidence sur la capacité du corps à réguler le poids.

L’âge

En vieillissant, on note une perte de la masse maigre, musculaire et parfois même osseuse, provoquant une diminution du métabolisme de base. Par le fait même, les dépenses énergétiques quotidiennes diminuent et, si l’on conserve le même apport en calories, la prise de poids est inévitable.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS?

En cas de perte de poids, la taille des cellules adipeuses diminue, mais leur nombre reste le même dans l’organisme. La procédure CoolSculptingMD permet quant à elle d’éliminer de façon définitive, une partie des cellules adipeuses traitées.


PRÉVENIR


Saine alimentation et activité physique 

Afin d’éviter l’accumulation d’amas graisseux, il est primordial d’équilibrer au maximum les apports énergétiques et la dépense physique. Une saine alimentation jumelée à une pratique régulière d’activité physique est donc la clé pour conserver une silhouette harmonieuse.

Maintenir de bonnes habitudes de vie

Profiter de nuits de sommeil réparatrices, boire beaucoup d’eau, éviter les boissons alcoolisées riches en calories et éviter au maximum le stress sont également recommandés.


TRAITER


Rares sont ceux et celles qui n’auront jamais à faire face aux poignées d’amour! Si ces dernières vous dérangent, il est tout à fait possible de les amoindrir ou même de les faire disparaître en modifiant vos habitudes de vie par exemple.

Exercice physique

Pour perdre les poignées d’amour, l’idéal est de pratiquer des sports qui combinent l’activité cardiovasculaire au renforcement musculaire. La natation est un excellent choix car elle permet de brûler un bon nombre de calories (cardio) tout en renforçant plusieurs muscles dont ceux de la ceinture abdominale. Le vélo, le jogging, la corde à sauter sont également des sports efficaces et peu coûteux qui ont l’avantage de mobiliser un bon nombre de muscles du corps.

Modifier son alimentation

Il n’y a pas de secret, pour se débarrasser d’un surplus de tissus graisseux, il faut porter une attention très particulière aux aliments que l’on consomme. On mise donc sur une alimentation riche en fibres, légumes, antioxydants et protéines et pauvre en sucres rapides et graisse animale. On n’oublie pas de bien s’hydrater avec des boissons non sucrées telles que de l’eau et le thé vert, reconnu pour favoriser l’élimination des toxines par son action drainante.

Soins cosmétiques

Certains ingrédients, peptides ou extraits botaniques peuvent aider à réduire les amas graisseux en agissant par exemple sur le cycle de stockage des graisses dans les adipocytes. Il ne s’agit pas d’une solution en soit, mais d’un bon complément à une hygiène de vie équilibrée.

Notre choix :
Tonifiant pour le corps, de Functionalab

Compléments alimentaires*

L’AHC, un extrait naturel du Garcinia Cambogia est reconnu pour ses effets sur la régulation de l’appétit et, par conséquent, sur le contrôle du poids. Des études ont d’ailleurs prouvé que la prise quotidienne de suppléments d’AHC pendant 12 semaines réduit de façon significative les graisses sous-cutanées et viscérales. Intégrer un supplément de qualité à base de AHC est donc une façon sécuritaire de maintenir un poids sain.

Notre choix :
Nutricosmétiques solution silhouette, de Functionalab

La technologie CoolSculptingMD

Cette plateforme médicale reconnue à travers le monde repose sur le principe de la cryolipolyse, soit la destruction des cellules adipeuses de façon permanente, sans chirurgie ni convalescence, par le froid. Lors d’un traitement, un refroidissement contrôlé des cellules graisseuses sous-cutanées est administré dans le but de détruire ces dernières, qui seront ensuite éliminées naturellement par les voies naturelles du corps. Ce traitement permet de détruire, en une seule séance, jusqu’à 27 % de cellules adipeuses sur la zone traitée. On peut l’utiliser sur le ventre, les flancs, les bras, l’intérieur et l’extérieur des cuisses de même que le dos et les pectoraux. 

Fréquence/ Résultats

Un minimum de 2 séances sur la même région est recommandé. 3 ou 4 séances peuvent s’avérer nécessaires selon l’amas initial à traiter. Les contours du corps sont alors mieux définis, la taille est affinée et la silhouette sculptée. Les technologie Venus sont par ailleurs un excellent soin pour entretenir les résultats.

OBJECTIF NO.3 : TRAVAILLER SUR LA CELLULITE


La cellulite est constitué d’amas d’adipocytes (cellules adipeuses) liés entre eux par des fibres verticales issues de déchets cellulaires mal éliminés, lui conférant un aspect capitonné et irrégulier. Elle est principalement localisée au niveau des cuisses, des fesses et de l’abdomen.

Causes

La cellulite est un phénomène physiologique normal. Si elle apparait généralement à la puberté et s’accentue souvent après une grossesse ou encore au moment de la ménopause, ses causes ne sont pas uniquement hormonales. Une combinaison des facteurs suivants l’explique généralement:

Le sexe

La structure des tissus conjonctifs qui entourent les cellules adipeuses (adipocytes) est différente d’un sexe à l’autre. Chez la femme, les cloisons sont perpendiculaires à la peau alors que chez l’homme elle forme une sorte de quadrillage. Résultat, lorsque les adipocytes grossissent, chez la femme leur expansion ne peut se faire que vers le haut, conférant à la peau son aspect capitonné. Le phénomène est différent chez l’homme puisque la structure en forme de treillis fait en sorte que les cellules ne peuvent s’expandre qu’en largeur ne modifiant pas ou très peu la texture de la peau.

L’âge

En vieillissant la peau s’affine et se relâche naturellement ce qui accentue généralement l’apparence de la cellulite.

L’hygiène de vie

Une alimentation trop riche et l’absence d’exercices réguliers peuvent aggraver les problèmes de cellulite.

Les autres causes

Malgré de bonnes habitudes de vie, il est possible d’être prédisposé à développer de la cellulite puisque c’est notre patrimoine génétique qui détermine le nombre et la taille de nos cellules graisseuses. Le stress, une mauvaise circulation sanguine ou lymphatique, le tabagisme et l’alcool sont également des facteurs favorisant l’apparition ou l’accentuation de la cellulite.

Les différents stades

Stade 1

Visible seulement lorsque la peau est pincée. Il est possible de l’éradiquer complètement.

Stade 2

L’aspect peau d’orange est visible en tout temps. La cellulite est par contre aussi réversible à ce stade.

Stade 3

Les cellules adipeuses sont plus volumineuses et une rétention d’eau est présente. Ce type de cellulite peut être délogée sur une plus longue période.

Stade 4

La cellulite est profondément incrustée et est difficile à éliminer.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS?

On estime que près de 9 femmes sur 10 auront de la cellulite au cours de leur vie, contre 1 homme sur 50!


PRÉVENIR


Pratiquer régulièrement l’activité physique

La pratique régulière de sport participe à l’élimination des graisses et à l’optimisation de la circulation sanguine. On privilégie les sports qui sollicitent les muscles des fesses, des cuisses et de l’abdomen tels que la natation, le vélo, la course à pied et le patin.

S’hydrater encore et encore

Boire de 1 à 2 litres d’eau par jour en évitant l’eau gazeuse qui favorise la rétention hydrique.

Adopter une saine alimentation

Une alimentation faible en sucres raffinés et en graisses est à privilégier. À mettre dans son panier d’épicerie : choux vert, oignons, poivrons, poireaux, ananas, fruits rouges et thé vert!

Réduire sa consommation de sel

Sachant que la consommation de sel favorise la rétention d’eau, il est recommandé de le réduire au maximum dans son alimentation

Porter des vêtements confortables

Les vêtements serrés compriment et immobilisent les tissus, ralentissant par le fait même la circulation sanguine.


TRAITER


Une fois que la cellulite est installée, il est possible d’en diminuer son apparence et, dans les meilleurs cas, la faire disparaître. En plus d’appliquer les astuces citées ci-haut, quelques outils peuvent également faire une réelle différence :

Pratiquer le massage quotidien

Le massage des zones concernées aide à stimuler la circulation et favorise l’élimination des toxines. La technique du palper rouler est bien connue pour aider la lipolyse, c’est-à-dire l’élimination de la graisse par les cellules graisseuses, et pour activer la circulation veineuse et lymphatique. Il est possible de la faire soi-même ou par un professionnel en clinique.

Soins cosmétiques

Les soins anticellulite combinent généralement divers actifs qui travaillent au niveau lipolytique (réduction des amas graisseux) et veinotonique (pour activer la circulation et le drainage des graisses). De bons résultats sont notés lors d’un usage régulier et il s’agit d’un excellent complément à une routine de vie équilibrée.

Notre choix :
Tonifiant pour le corps Functionalab

Compléments alimentaires*

En plus d’être reconnu pour ses bienfaits au niveau du contrôle du poids, l’AHC, un extrait du fruit tropical Garcinia cambogia, contribue également à la détérioration des graisses emmagasinées dans les cellules adipeuses et à l’inhibition du stockage des nouvelles graisses et du cholestérol. Les nutricosmétiques à base de AHC et de chrome, un accélérateur métabolique qui favorise également la perte cellulitique, constituent donc très bon choix lorsque l’on veut diminuer l’apparence de la cellulite.

Notre choix :
Nutricosmétiques solution silhouette Functionalab

La technologie ThermageMD

ThermageMD propose une approche non invasive pour améliorer l’apparence de la cellulite légère à modérée, grâce à une technologie à base de radiofréquences unipolaires. Agissant à deux niveaux, le traitement permet de resserrer la structure de la peau et de stimuler la production de nouveau collagène. Des améliorations visibles à la surface de la peau et un remodelage sont ainsi observés à mesure que l’organisme suit son cycle normal de régénération du collagène. On l’utilise généralement au niveau des bras, du ventre, des cuisses et des fesses.

Fréquence/ Résultats

1 séance par année est recommandée. Une belle atténuation de la cellulite et un effet de resserrement de la peau graduel et optimal au bout de 5 à 6 mois.

Les technologies Venus 

Cette technologie utilise de la chaleur sous forme de radiofréquence multipolaire et des champs magnétiques pulsés qui permettent de faire régresser la cellulite d’au moins un stade par cure de 10 traitements, en stimulant la production de lipase, l’enzyme responsable de la diminution des cellules adipeuses. On l’utilise généralement pour diminuer l’apparence de la cellulite au niveau des bras, du ventre, des flancs, des fesses, des cuisses et des genoux.

Fréquence/ Résultats

Une cure de 10 séances est recommandée. Les résultats sont visibles normalement dès le 3e traitement. Il s’agit également d’une excellente option pour entretenir les effets d’un soin ThermageMD.

Vous aimeriez en savoir plus sur nos différentes technologies et comment elles peuvent vous aider dans l’atteinte de vos objectifs? Prenez rendez-vous dès aujourd’hui à votre clinique préférée pour une consultation gratuite!


* Les compléments alimentaires doivent être utilisés dans le cadre d’un mode de vie sain et non comme substituts d’un régime alimentaire varié et équilibré. Consulter un praticien en soins de santé avant usage si vous êtes enceinte, allaitez, ou si vous suivez un régime faible en protéines.

Articles similaires

Conseils, concours et promotions exclusives tous les mois

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre et recevez du contenu exclusif!

Articles les plus consultés

Suivez-nous

Dermapure

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre et recevez 25$ de rabais

Promotions exclusives, conseils et concours tous les mois