Available in your clinic

Not available in your clinic

SAY YES TO HAPPY MONDAY!

January 13, 2022

Others

Grey skies, freezing temperatures, the end of vacation and post-holiday blues -it can be hard to keep your spirits up in January! There’s a reason that the 3rd Monday of this month has been dubbed Blue Monday, supposedly the most depressing day of the year. Is this a reason to stay under the covers and brood all day on January 17th? No way! This year don’t let Blue Monday (or any other day) dampen your spirits with these 10 ideas to lift them right back up! Forget Blue Monday and say yes to Happy Monday!

Blue Monday is meant to be the most depressing day of the year, but it doesn’t have to be!

1. SEEK THE LIGHT

With the lack of sunshine, vitamin D is becoming scarce as Blue Monday approaches. It’s too bad because this super vitamin has the power to boost the immune system and plays an important role in mood regulation!  So, take advantage of every opportunity to get some fresh air and light, for example, by going for a 15 minute walk during your lunch break (don’t forget to apply a sunscreen!). If the symptoms of the winter blues persist, don’t hesitate to invest in a light therapy device that can increase the level of serotonin, an anti-stress hormone!

Functionalab Mineral Sunscreen SPF 50, $50 at dermapure.com

2. MOVE FOR FUN

Regular physical activity stimulates the production of endorphins and serotonin, which is an easy way to boost your mood! “A healthy mind in a healthy body” is the basis and having fun while moving is the secret! Zumba, yoga or HIIT classes, tons of different options exist online and it’s a great way to try something new! Online training is not your thing? Skiing, sliding with your family, hiking, snowshoeing, walking or even a good old fashioned snowball fight, any reason is good to get active. Back home, make yourself a nice hot chocolate and wrap yourself in a big warm blanket. Bliss!

3.  TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF

They say that the beginning of the year is a time for reflection. Here is a simple exercise: first, think about everything you have done for others during the past year (gestures, gifts, services, time spent). Now list what you did for yourself. Are the lists balanced? Chances are the answer is no. Taking care of yourself is important to create space for you to draw from when you need to take care of others. So, slip into a warm bath, light a scented candle, apply a face mask and …. Enjoy!

Functionalab Glycolic Acid 5% Mask, $85 at dermapure.com

SOJA&CO Pine, Pomegranate and Tangerine candle, 33$ the 8 oz candle at sojaco.ca

4. KEEPING IN TOUCH

By nature, human beings need contact with their peers. That’s why the last few months have been particularly hard on everyone’s mood. There are many ways to connect, and thankfully, access to technology allows us to keep in touch instantly. Sending letters through the mail is unfortunately a dying form of communication, yet it has a comforting “je ne sais quoi” about it. Why not take advantage of this unusual time to create new traditions and send, for example, a letter a week to a loved one? Or find a pen pal! It’s true that this exercise requires energy and time, but you’ll quickly see how much fun it is, both for the messenger and the recipient!

5PAMPER YOURSELF AND YOUR SKIN

With our harsh winters, our skin is inevitably affected. And because a beautiful complexion and healthy skin are good for your soul, you need to take care of it! Make an appointment at a clinic and treat yourself to some time just for you. A facial, a glycolic peel or a BELA MD are perfect treatments to maintain the health of your skin and give you a radiant glow. It’s a simple and pleasant way to brighten your skin and your day!

MAKE AN APPOINTMENT

6. LISTEN TO MUSIC, BUT NOT JUST ANY KIND!

We know that music has a real impact on our mood. There’s a reason it’s in the movies -the heartbroken star listens to love songs over and over again while crying and eating a liter of ice cream (ice cream is beneficial though, see point 7!). The idea being to boost your morale, avoid ballads that are too melancholic and choose songs with positive (or funny) lyrics and a fast tempo. Looking for inspiration? A Dutch neuroscience researcher has developed an equation to determine whether a song will put you in a good mood. As a result, in 2015 he created the “Happiness Playlist” containing 10 songs that would make people happier, including Queen’s Don’t Stop Me Now, Abba’s Dancing Queen, The Beach Boys’ Good Vibrations and Billy Joel’s Uptown Girl. A great start to creating your own Happy Monday playlist!

7. EAT COMFORT FOOD

Because there’s nothing like sharing a good meal to brighten up a day, give yourself a good dose of comfort by cooking a meal that really makes you happy! Why not take the opportunity to discover different flavours by trying new recipes? Treat yourself to a recipe book that makes you want to cook and get to work! And because the smell of a cake baking in the oven is so comforting, prepare a nice dessert and let the delicious aromas fill your home! Does the thought of baking bore you? Skip that step and go straight to the “eating” part by ordering what you really like at your favorite restaurant, it will brighten their day too!

Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes from London’s Ottolenghi, $50 at chapters.indigo.ca

8. HAVE A GOOD LAUGH!

What better way to cheer up than to laugh? You can observe it after a good laugh: your cheeks turn pink, your body relaxes, and you feel incredibly good. Did you know that when you laugh, your brain releases endorphins, the chemicals that naturally relieve tension and put you in a good mood? It is also said that laughter is contagious and increases happiness and intimacy between people who share it, another reason not to deprive yourself of it! Just because theaters are closed doesn’t mean that you must miss out on the fun. Comedy shows on social networks or online and podcasts; there is so much online content available to make you laugh, take advantage of it!

Listen to a comedy podcast
Off The Vine with Kaitlyn Bristowe

https://ici.radio-canada.ca/ohdio/balados/7220/louis-jose-houde-heures-verticales-humour-spectacle

9. FIND INNER CALM

When an anxiety-provoking situation persists, it is normal to feel oppressed and powerless. However, just like any other emotion, feeling stress and anxiety is only temporary and several tools are effective in finding inner calm quickly! This is the case with mindfulness, the concept of which consists of simply welcoming one’s thoughts and emotions in the present moment, without judgment. The different exercises it includes can help you modify your reaction to negative thoughts and thus reduce the effects they have on you, that’s something!  Meditation is the ideal introduction to mindfulness because, in addition to being free, its practice is accessible and requires little time. Various scientific studies have also revealed its effectiveness in reducing stress, anxiety, and emotional fatigue and in improving concentration and sleep quality. It’s worth a try, isn’t it? For those who are new to the practice, there are various apps to guide you through your first attempts. Breathe in, breathe out… and off you go!

Learn to meditate with Headspace

headspace.com

10. SLEEP LIKE A BABY

According to scientific studies, sleeping well is the key to feeling less stressed and happier!  While restful sleep promotes good physical, mental and emotional health, several factors can affect its quality. It is for instance recommended to avoid consuming caffeinated beverages, alcohol and heavy meals in the evening or engaging in physical activity late in the day. Also, to ensure a good night’s sleep, a good routine is essential! Try as much as possible to establish a sleep schedule by going to bed and getting up at the same time every day, practice a relaxing activity before going to bed and avoid screens at all costs for at least one hour before going to sleep. Setting up a bedroom that is conducive to sleep is also essential. Remember to set the temperature of your bedroom between 16 and 20ºC in winter and make sure you have a bed (mattress, bedding and pillows) that you feel comfortable in. Remember, you’ll spend almost a third of your life sleeping, so make the most of it!

Similar articles

Dermapure

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive $25 off

Exclusive promotions, tips and contests every month

Disponible dans votre clinique

Indisponible dans votre clinique

DITES OUI AU HAPPY MONDAY!

janvier 13, 2022

Divers

Grisaille, températures glaciales, fin des vacances et blues d’après-Fêtes, le mois de janvier peut parfois être dur sur le moral! Ce n’est pas pour rien que le 3e lundi de ce mois a été baptisé le Blue Monday, journée supposément la plus déprimante de l’année. Est-ce une raison pour rester sous les couvertures et ruminer toute la journée du 17 janvier? Que neni! Cette année, ne laissez pas le Blue Monday (ni aucune autre journée) gâcher votre moral avec ces 10 idées pour le remonter illico presto! Oubliez le Blue Monday et dites oui au Happy Monday!

Le Blue Monday est censé être la journée la plus déprimante de l’année, mais elle n’a pas à l’être !

1. RECHERCHER LA LUMIÈRE À TOUT PRIX

Avec le manque d’ensoleillement, la vitamine D se fait rare à l’approche du Blue Monday. Dommage car cette super vitamine a le pouvoir de booster le système immunitaire et joue un rôle important dans la régulation de l’humeur !  Profitez donc de chaque occasion pour prendre un bol d’air et de lumière, en allant par exemple marcher une quinzaine de minutes pendant la pause du dîner (n’oubliez pas d’appliquer un soin solaire !). Si les symptômes du blues hivernal persistent, n’hésitez pas à investir dans un appareil de luminothérapie qui permet d’augmenter le taux de sérotonine, une hormone anti-stress!

Écran solaire minéral FPS 50 de Functionalab, 50 $ à dermapure.com

2. BOUGER POUR LE PLAISIR!

Pratiquer une activité physique de manière régulière stimule la production d’endorphine et de sérotonine et ça, c’est bon pour le moral ! « Un esprit sain dans un corps sain » est la base et avoir du plaisir en bougeant, le secret ! Cours de zumba, de yoga ou de HIIT, des tonnes de cours différents existent en ligne et il s’agit d’une excellente façon d’essayer quelque chose de nouveau. Les entrainements en ligne ne sont pas votre truc ? Ski, glissade en famille, randonnée, raquette, marche ou même une bonne vieille bataille de boule de neige, toutes les raisons sont bonnes pour s’activer et profiter de l’hiver !  De retour à la maison, faites-vous un bon chocolat chaud et enroulez-vous dans une bonne couverture chaude. Le bonheur !

Pratiquer le yoga en ligne

youtube.com/channel/UCSVSWxTNzE3PD3OY_RKw0Fg

3.  PRENDRE SOIN DE SOI

On dit que le début d’année est propice aux bilans. Voici un exercice tout simple : réfléchissez d’abord à toutes les actions que vous avez posées pour les autres durant l’année qui vient de s’écouler (gestes, cadeaux, services, attentions). Maintenant, dressez la liste de ce que vous avez fait pour vous faire plaisir de manière totalement égoïste. Est-ce équilibré ? Il y a fort à parier que la réponse soit non. Prendre soin de soi est pourtant primordial pour créer de l’espace dans lequel vous pourrez puiser lorsque vous devrez prendre soin des autres. Glissez-vous donc dans un bain chaud, allumez une bougie parfumée, appliquez un masque pour le visage et…. Relaxez ! 

Masque à l’acide glycolique 5% de Functionalab, 75$ à dermapure.com

Bougie pin, pomme grenade et mandarine de SOJA&CO, 33$ la bougie de 8 oz à sojaco.ca

4. GARDER LE CONTACT

Par leur nature, les êtres humains ont besoin de contacts avec leurs pairs. C’est pourquoi les derniers mois ont été particulièrement difficiles sur le moral des troupes. Il existe de nombreuses manières de se connecter et, heureusement, l’accès à la technologie nous permet de garder le contact de manière instantanée. Envoyer des lettres par courrier est malheureusement un mode de communication qui se perd qui a pourtant ce “ je ne sais quoi ” de drôlement réconfortant. Pourquoi ne pas profiter de cette période hors de l’ordinaire pour créer de nouvelles traditions et envoyer, par exemple, une lettre par semaine à un proche ? Il est vrai que l’activité demande de l’énergie et du temps, mais vous constaterez rapidement le plaisir qu’elle procure, autant pour le messager que pour le destinataire !

5S’OFFRIR UNE PAUSE BEAUTÉ

Avec nos hivers rigoureux, notre peau est forcément malmenée. Et, parce qu’un beau teint et une peau en santé, ça fait du bien au moral, il faut en prendre soin ! Prenez un rendez-vous en clinique et offrez-vous un moment juste pour vous. Un facial, un peeling glycolique ou encore un BELA MD sont des soins parfaits pour entretenir la santé de votre peau et afficher un teint éclatant. Une manière simple et, oh combien agréable, de faire un pied de nez à la grisaille !

PRENDRE RENDEZ-VOUS

6. ÉCOUTER DE LA MUSIQUE, MAIS PAS N’IMPORTE LAQUELLE !

On le sait, la musique a un réel impact sur l’humeur. Ce n’est pas pour rien que dans les films, la vedette au cœur brisée écoute en boucle des chansons d’amour en pleurant et en mangeant un litre de crème glacée (la crème glacée est bénéfique par contre, voir le point 7 !). Bref, l’idée étant de booster le moral, évitez les ballades trop mélancoliques et privilégiez les chansons aux paroles positives (ou drôles) et ayant un tempo rapide. Vous manquez d’inspiration ? Sachez qu’un chercheur hollandais en neuroscience aurait mis au point une équation permettant de déterminer si une chanson va nous rendre de bonne humeur. Il a ainsi créé en 2015 la « Playlist du bonheur » contenant 10 chansons qui rendraient les gens plus heureux, dont Don’t Stop Me Now de Queen, Dancing Queen d’Abba, Good Vibrations de The Beach Boys et Uptown Girl de Billy Joel. Un bon départ pour créer votre propre playlist Happy Monday!

7DÉGUSTER DES PLATS RÉCONFORTANTS

Parce qu’il n’y a rien comme partager un bon repas pour égayer une journée, procurez-vous une bonne dose de réconfort en cuisinant un repas qui vous fait réellement plaisir ! Pourquoi ne pas en profiter pour découvrir des saveurs différentes en essayant de nouvelles recettes ? Offrez-vous un livre de recettes qui vous fait envie et passez aux fourneaux ! Et parce que l’odeur d’un gâteau qui cuit au four est tellement réconfortant, concoctez un bon dessert et laissez les délicieux arômes embaumer votre maison ! L’idée de devoir cuisiner vous ennuie ? Sauter cette étape et aller directement à la case « manger » en commandant ce qui vous fait réellement plaisir à votre restaurant préféré, cela embellira sans aucun doute leur journée également !

Plenty : L’exquise cuisine végétarienne du chef Yotam Ottolenghi, 34,95$ à renaud-bray.com

8. LÂCHER SON FOU

Quoi de mieux que de rire pour se remonter le moral ? On le constate d’ailleurs après un bon fou rire : le rose monte aux joues, le corps se relâche et on se sent incroyablement bien. Saviez-vous qu’en riant le cerveau libère des endorphines, ces substances chimiques qui font que les tensions s’estompent de manière naturelle qui mettent de bonne humeur ? On dit également que le rire est contagieux et augmente le bonheur et l’intimité entre les personnes qui le partagent, une raison de plus de ne pas s’en priver ! Ce n’est pas parce que les salles de spectacles et de cinémas sont fermées qu’il faille bouder son plaisir. Spectacles d’humour sur les réseaux sociaux ou en ligne et balados; de nombreux contenus en ligne sont disponibles pour vous faire rire un bon coup, profitez-en!

Écouter un balado humoristique
Louis-José Houde : Les heures verticales

https://ici.radio-canada.ca/ohdio/balados/7220/louis-jose-houde-heures-verticales-humour-spectacle

9. TROUVER LE CALME INTÉRIEUR

Quand une situation anxiogène perdure, il est normal de se sentir oppressé et impuissant. Pourtant, tout comme pour n’importe quelle émotion, ressentir le stress et l’anxiété n’est que passager et plusieurs outils se révèlent efficaces pour retrouver le calme intérieur rapidement ! C’est le cas par exemple de la pleine conscience dont le concept consiste à simplement accueillir ses pensées et émotions dans le moment présent, sans jugement. Les différents exercices qu’elle englobe peuvent vous aider à modifier votre réaction aux pensées négatives et ainsi réduire les effets négatifs qu’elles ont sur vous, c’est déjà ça !  La méditation est l’outil idéal pour s’y initier car, en plus d’être gratuit, sa pratique est accessible et demande peu de temps. Différentes études scientifiques ont par ailleurs révélé son efficacité dans la réduction du stress, de l’anxiété et de la fatigue émotionnelle et dans l’amélioration de la concentration et de la qualité du sommeil. Ça vaut la peine de tenter l’expérience, non ? Pour les néophytes, différentes applications existent pour vous guider dans vos premiers essais. Inspirez, expirez… et c’est parti !

Apprenez à méditer avec Headspace

headspace.com/fr

10. DORMIR COMME UN BÉBÉ

Selon des études scientifiques, bien dormir serait la clé pour se sentir moins stressé et plus heureux !  Si un sommeil réparateur permet une bonne santé physique, mentale et émotionnelle, plusieurs facteurs peuvent toutefois en altérer sa qualité. Évitez donc de consommer des boissons caféinées, de l’alcool et des repas copieux en soirée ou encore de pratiquer de l’activité physique tard dans la journée. Aussi, pour favoriser une bonne nuit de sommeil, une bonne routine est de mise ! Tentez autant que possible d’établir un horaire de sommeil en vous couchant et vous levant à la même heure à tous les jours, pratiquez une activité relaxante avant de vous coucher et évitez à tout prix les écrans au minimum une heure avant d’aller au lit. Aménager une chambre propice au sommeil est également primordial. Pensez donc à régler la température de votre chambre entre 16 et 20 ºC en hiver et assurez-vous d’avoir un lit (matelas, literie et oreillers) dans lequel vous vous sentez confortable. N’oubliez pas que vous passerez près du tiers de votre vie à dormir, aussi bien en profiter !

Articles similaires

Conseils, concours et promotions exclusives tous les mois

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre et recevez du contenu exclusif!

Articles les plus consultés

Suivez-nous

Dermapure

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre et recevez 25$ de rabais

Promotions exclusives, conseils et concours tous les mois